TL;DR
Get business pricing on garage and car supplies
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
Cyprus’s Ministry of Transport plans to add 94 fast-charging points to the public network by 2028 under the national Recovery and Resilience Plan. The programme is estimated to cost about €10 million and includes 76 points for passenger cars and 18 for heavy-duty vehicles; 10 points have already been installed.
Cyprus’s Ministry of Transport plans to add 94 public fast-charging points by 2028, expanding an island-wide network that currently has 384 publicly accessible charging stations. The programme, financed through the national Recovery and Resilience Plan and estimated to cost about €10 million, includes chargers for both passenger cars and heavy-duty vehicles.
The planned additions comprise 76 charging points for passenger cars, each rated at 150 kilowatts, and 18 points for heavy-duty vehicles, with power ratings ranging from 200 to 350 kW. The Transport Ministry’s announcement sets 2028 as the target year for completing the programme. These are charging points, not necessarily 94 separate sites: the source report does not give a total number of locations for the full rollout.
Ten fast-charging stations from the programme have already been installed at publicly accessible locations, at a reported cost of €840,660. Five are at hospitals in Nicosia, Larnaca, Limassol, Kyperounta and Famagusta. Other installed stations are at locations including bus terminals and archaeological sites. The source does not specify the exact distribution of all 10 installations or how many charging points each station contains.
The planned schedule calls for 16 passenger-car points in 2026, followed by 48 for passenger cars and 12 for commercial vehicles in 2027. The remaining installations are scheduled for 2028. The reported schedule does not provide a more detailed breakdown of the final year’s work.
More Fast Charging for Cars and Trucks
The programme would add capacity for two different uses: everyday passenger travel and charging for heavy commercial vehicles. The latter group is allocated 18 points with higher power ratings than the passenger-car chargers, which could make the network more relevant to operators whose vehicles need to charge during working routes. The announcement gives no information about intended users, charging prices or operating arrangements.
For drivers, the reported locations matter as much as the total number of points. Existing installations at hospitals, bus terminals and archaeological sites put some charging infrastructure at public destinations, but the source does not say whether every new point will be available around the clock or whether access will depend on site opening hours. The additional equipment is planned, not yet all in service, so the eventual benefit depends on delivery and public accessibility.
The figures also offer a measure of the proposed expansion against the network already in place: Cyprus has 384 public stations at 221 locations, while the new programme covers 94 points. Stations and charging points are different units, and the source does not give enough detail to equate the planned points with a specific number of new sites or to calculate how much the overall network’s capacity will rise.
Products Worth Considering

Autel Home EV Charger up to 50A J1772 Hardwired Level 2 Charger with 25 ft Cable

Autel MaxiCharger Level 2 EV Charger, 40A, 240V, Indoor/Outdoor, 25‑Foot Flexible Cable, NEMA 14‑50 Plug (White)

DEWALT 20V MAX 1/4-Inch Impact Driver Kit with Battery and Charger (DCF787D1)
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Cyprus’s Existing Public Network
The Ministry’s programme adds to a public network spread across the island. The source report lists 76 stations in Nicosia, 57 in Limassol, 32 in Paphos, 29 in Larnaca and 27 in Famagusta. Those city and district figures total 221, matching the reported number of locations, while the overall count is 384 publicly accessible stations. The source does not explain the precise counting method or whether some locations have multiple stations.
The rollout is tied to Cyprus’s national Recovery and Resilience Plan, which is the stated funding route. The estimated total cost is about €10 million, while the first 10 installed stations are reported to have cost €840,660. The available information does not explain whether that initial amount is included in the €10 million estimate, or provide a detailed budget for construction, equipment and ongoing operation.
The October 26 report by Electrive says the Transport Ministry announced the plan; it also cites en.philenews.com and Cyprus Mail. The published details establish the intended number, charger ratings, estimated cost and broad timetable. They do not include a full site list or a project contract schedule, so those details should not be treated as settled.
“The ministry plans to install a total of 94 new fast-charging points by 2028.”
— Cyprus Ministry of Transport, as reported by Electrive
Sites, Funding and Delivery Details
The announcement sets a target but leaves several practical details open. It does not identify all planned sites, specify the operators responsible for the chargers, or state what drivers will pay. The source also does not say whether every point will be available to all vehicles or give information about connector types, payment methods and access hours.
The €10 million estimate is not accompanied by a cost breakdown, and it is unclear from the report whether the €840,660 spent on the first 10 stations is counted within that estimate. No construction contracts, procurement milestones or reasons for any possible schedule changes are described.
The timetable is stated at a high level: 16 passenger-car points in 2026, 60 points in 2027 across passenger and commercial vehicles, and the remainder in 2028. The source does not specify the exact number or type of points planned for 2028, nor does it confirm that all 10 installed stations are already open and operating. These details may become clearer as the programme proceeds.
Rollout Milestones Through 2028
The next stated milestone is the planned installation of 16 passenger-car charging points in 2026. The programme then calls for 48 passenger-car points and 12 commercial-vehicle points in 2027, with remaining installations due by 2028. The Ministry’s target is therefore a staged expansion, rather than a single opening date for the full network.
As work progresses, drivers and fleet operators will need information about specific locations, opening dates, access conditions and charging prices. A published site list and operational updates would help distinguish completed installations from chargers that are planned or still being built. The source material does not give a date for the next ministry update.
For now, the confirmed development is the government’s 94-point plan and the installation of 10 stations reported so far. Whether the full schedule and estimated budget hold, and how much the new points will improve access across the island, will depend on details and progress reported during the rollout.
Key Questions
How many charging points does Cyprus plan to add?
The Transport Ministry plans 94 new fast-charging points by 2028: 76 for passenger cars and 18 for heavy-duty vehicles.
What power ratings are planned?
The passenger-car points are rated at 150 kW each. The heavy-duty vehicle points are planned at power levels from 200 to 350 kW.
How much will the programme cost?
The estimated cost is about €10 million, with funding under Cyprus’s national Recovery and Resilience Plan. The report does not provide a detailed budget breakdown.
How many of the new stations are already installed?
Ten fast-charging stations from the programme have been installed at publicly accessible locations, including five hospitals. The report does not confirm their precise number of charging points or give a full list of operating sites.
When will the rest of the network be ready?
The stated target is to complete the programme by 2028. The schedule calls for 16 passenger-car points in 2026 and 60 points in 2027; the remaining installations are planned for 2028.
Source: electrive.com
